top of page
  • gina.lyell

CLONING! It's a thing!

Updated: Dec 31, 2022

People often mistake cloning as 'hacking'. Hacking is where your Social media account security is breached and someone else obtains your password and literally HACKS your social pages.


CLONING is quite different. Cloning is where some douchebag copies your profile pic, creates a new profile, using your name and your pic ... then they send friend requests to all your friends, trying to trick them into thinking its you.


Changing your password in this case does absolutely nothing, as there have been absolutely no security breaches .... However, there are a few things you can do to make it unlikely that your account will be cloned again in the future.


The douchebag cloners usually target accounts where the 'friends list' is publicly visible. They are not likely to clone an account where they can't see a friends list, as who would thy send the friend requests to?


Sooooo, the best way to avoid cloning is to lock down your friends list so only you (or your friends) can see it. I have stepped out below how to do this on your computer desktop.



First, click on your profile pic in the top right hand corner and from the drop down menu, select 'Settings & privacy' ... (as per below image)



Then click on 'Settings' (as per below image)




Then from the column on the left hand side of your page, select 'Privacy' (as per below image)


This takes you into the Privacy Settings and Tools area of your account. Click on the EDIT button to change the options accordingly on this page.


To avoid cloning:

1. Set the 'Who can see your future posts?' to FRIENDS

2. Set the 'Who can see the people, Pages and lists you follow" to ONLY ME

3. Set the 'Who can send you friends requests?' to FRIENDS OF FRIENDS

4. Set the 'Who can see your friends list?' to ONLY ME

(as per below image)












66 views0 comments
bottom of page